Tags

, , , , ,

Requiem

Official Stuff –

Author – Lauren Oliver

Pages – 391

Publisher – Harper Teen

Series – Delirium Trilogy

Summary –

They have tried to squeeze us out, to stamp us into the past.

But we are still here.

And there are more of us every day.

Now an active member of the resistance, Lena has been transformed. The nascent rebellion that was under way in Pandemonium has ignited into an all-out revolution in Requiem, and Lena is at the center of the fight.

After rescuing Julian from a death sentence, Lena and her friends fled to the Wilds. But the Wilds are no longer a safe haven—pockets of rebellion have opened throughout the country, and the government cannot deny the existence of Invalids. Regulators now infiltrate the borderlands to stamp out the rebels, and as Lena navigates the increasingly dangerous terrain, her best friend, Hana, lives a safe, loveless life in Portland as the fiancée of the young mayor.

Maybe we are driven crazy by our feelings.

Maybe love is a disease, and we would be better off without it.

But we have chosen a different road.

And in the end, that is the point of escaping the cure: We are free to choose.

We are even free to choose the wrong thing.

My Rating – 3 Stars

SPOILER WARNING

Normally, I don’t like to spoil the plots of the books I review. I try and keep descriptions as vague as possible and try not to give out any more info than what is in the summary.

However with this book, for me to explain with I’m giving it barely 3 stars, I have to explain certain plot points that literally made me throw my book across the room. (I’m AM being literal. Ask my fiancé.) So, if you DO NOT want to be spoiled please, skip this post (and maybe check out other ones I’ve written? Hehe)

The book starts where the last one left off. Alex is alive. Lena has feelings for Julian. (don’t even get me started on Julian.) Alex, Lena, and Julian are all traveling together with their merry band of Invalids. They come to realize that it isn’t just Scavengers out in the Wilds now, its Regulators. They have been finding Invalids and killing them. They have spies in the Wilds and they take out an entire colony of Invalids. The war is still going on but becoming more intense. People inside city limits are unhappy and want to be free. They are joining the Resistance.

The book alternates POVs between Lena and Hana. Remember Hana? She was Lena’s best friend in the first book. And I don’t care about her. That was major thing that irritated me about this book. I wrote Hana off after the first book. Maybe that’s wrong of me but I didn’t care for Hana’s POV, I care about Lena and Alex and Grace.

Anyway, Hana has been cured. She has been matched to the future mayor of Portland, Fred Hargrove. Her POV is very blah but she’s been cured so her feelings are dulled or nonexistent. Her fiancé is a douche-nugget that had his previous wife locked up in the Crypts for asking too many questions and knowing that he’s a psychopath. Hana is expected to be an obedient little wife that smiles nice for the camera.

She questions her feelings and wonders if the procedure actually worked for her. One night, she sees Jenny (Lena’s cousin) and she is terribly skinny and pale. She is obviously malnourished. This strikes up some feelings of guilt in Hana; because apparently she was the one that told on Lena and Alex (she was jealous). She looks for Lena’s family but finds out they’ve been banished from their home and they live in the Highlands where Alex and Lena used to meet in secret.

Grace is just as malnourished as Jenny and Hana begins to sneak her food. This of course gets discovered and she finds out just how much of a douche-nugget Fred really is.

Back into the Wilds, where Alex tells Lena he never loved her, she plays hot and cold with Julian almost gets herself killed a number of times and finds her mom! Her mom! That person that has been a huge part of the story and a shadow in Lena’s mind for the whole series and she just randomly runs into her in the middle of the woods! They have their standard mother and daughter cry it out session and Lena is back in action.

Lena and her band travel to Portland to tear the city down. Lena sneaks into the city as the Invalids and the Resistance bomb the city. It’s her mission to find Grace.

The story ends shortly after that, with absolutely no resolution or questions answered. You don’t know what happens to Lena, Alex, Julian, Grace, Hana or anyone else. It just ends. You don’t know if they live or die. You don’t know if the Resistance succeeds or fails. You don’t know if Lena chooses Alex or Julian (though it’s kind of implied a little that it’s probably Alex). You simply don’t know.

As a reader, I hate that kind of ending. It really turns me off from a book when there is no definite ending. I don’t like being left wondering what happened to these characters that I’ve rooted for.

The writing was superb as usual but the issues I had with this book has left a bad taste in my mouth now when it comes to the series. I’m sorry that this review has been more of a rant, but I have so many feelings! And not many of them are positive.

I encourage you to read the book for yourself and judge. If you have read the book, please tell me what you thought in the comments! I’d love to hear from fans of this series.

Requiem (Delirium, #3)

