Tags

, , , , ,

Tithe

Official Stuff –

Author – Holly Black

Pages – 331

Series – Modern Faerie Tale Series

Publisher – Margaret K. McElderry Books (Simon and Schuster)

Summary –

Sixteen-year-old Kaye is a modern nomad. Fierce and independent, she travels from city to city with her mother’s rock band until an ominous attack forces Kaye back to her childhood home. There, amid the industrial, blue-collar New Jersey backdrop, Kaye soon finds herself an unwilling pawn in an ancient power struggle between two rival faerie kingdoms – a struggle that could very well mean her death.

My Rating – 3 Stars

Kaye is a teenage dropout. Her mother is a wannabe rock star, moving her from place to place. She swears, she drinks, she smokes. One night at a bar, after her mom’s band is done playing, Kaye sees a mysterious stranger whispering in the ear of her mom’s current boyfriend. Suddenly the boyfriend attacks her mom and once he’s arrested, Kaye and her mom flee to her grandmother’s house in New Jersey.

There she connects with her old friend Janet and her “imaginary” friends from childhood. These imaginary friends are actually real. And they are faeries. She also meets a smokin’ hot faerie named Roiben. Well actually she kind of saves his life and learns his true name and makes him sort of her slave. But she doesn’t exactly know how to use it.

Soon, she discovers her true nature and gets caught in a war between the “good” faeries and the “bad” faeries.

And that’s about all I can tell you about the book because I got confused several times. There were some plot holes. There were a few times that I had to go back and reread a few paragraphs to grasp what was going on.

There is underage smoking/drinking/hints to sex. Some swearing. A character death or two. And some seriously twisted faerie world shiz.

This is going to be a short review. Mostly because I can’t tell you much more without spoiling the plot and because it wasn’t that memorable. I did like Kaye though, despite her being kind of white trashy (I feel like that author made her a little too white trashy though, if you catch my drift.) She is faced with some pretty shocking life changes and she does pretty good, considering. Roiben was interesting, very angsty. I enjoyed his character; he’s really neither good nor evil. Her friend Corny has the makings of a terrorist and I didn’t like him that much.

Overall it was kinda meh. I bought this series because it was cheap on amazon and I had never read anything by Holly Black before. Gotta say, I’m a little unimpressed. But I shall power on and continue the series. (that may be because faeries are my weakness!)

Tithe (Modern Faerie Tales, #1)

