Tags

, , , ,

Hopeless

Official Stuff –

Author –Colleen Hoover

Pages – 327

Publisher – Atria Books

Summary –

Sometimes discovering the truth can leave you more hopeless than believing the lies…

That’s what seventeen-year-old Sky realizes after she meets Dean Holder. A guy with a reputation that rivals her own and an uncanny ability to invoke feelings in her she’s never had before. He terrifies her and captivates her all in the span of just one encounter, and something about the way he makes her feel sparks buried memories from a past that she wishes could just stay buried.

Sky struggles to keep him at a distance knowing he’s nothing but trouble, but Holder insists on learning everything about her. After finally caving to his unwavering pursuit, Sky soon finds that Holder isn’t at all who he’s been claiming to be. When the secrets he’s been keeping are finally revealed, every single facet of Sky’s life will change forever.

My Rating – 4 Stars

*I received a digital copy of this novel from Edelweiss on behalf of Atria Books*

So I’m a little late to the party with this book and it was damn hard for me to figure out what rating I wanted to give it.

Sky and her best friend, Six, have been sneaking guys into their rooms at night for months. She hasn’t been sleeping with all these boys, but she still has a pretty nasty reputation around town, even though she’s been homeschooled her whole life. She doesn’t feel anything for these guys. As in, literally, she feels nothing. Whenever they are doing what they are doing, she just stares up at the stars on her bedroom ceiling and kind of blanks out. There’s no lust, no chemistry, no horniness, nothing.

That is, until she meets Holder. Sky and Holder get off to a rough start. Holder is a little intense and has his own fair share of rumors about him. He has some pretty crazy mood swings that are a tad scary. He’s a little stalkerish but later in the book you understand his need to know everything and anything about Sky.

Along with meeting a guy that finally makes her heart race and her girly bits tingle, she is starting her senior year at public school. Let’s just say her reputation precedes her and her first day is pretty terrible. Expect for her new BFF Breckin who was the best “Mormon” character ever (read the book to get the joke!)

Sky and Holder have their ups and downs. They overcome a lot in their short time together. I absolutely loved their banter. It was funny and witty and a little bit more real that some of the YA novels I’ve read. The ego busting insults were hilarious.

There are times when Holder comes off a little emotionally abusive and he definitely has a nasty temper. I don’t know why girls find this so attractive. And yes, I’ve written about bad boys with trouble pasts and bad tempers but it’s not attractive in real life. Trust! Ok mini rant over.

Also there were parts of the plot that I figured out after the first flashback. The other big plot point shocked me at first but when I thought about it, it clicked in my head and I understood some things about Sky’s life.

I know for fiction, we should suspend our beliefs a little but there were a few things that were hard to swallow for me. (Bear with me, trying not to spoil!) Like that one person would do something like that in front of two other people and that two people just happen to move to the same town. The last half of the book felt a bit rushed. After a certain point everything happens in rapid succession.
However, I did enjoy this book. I was moved to tears (that last time that happened was The Fault in Our Stars). When a book generates that much emotion in me, I can usually look over the flaws and give it a high rating.

I recommend this book! (Oh and also, best dry humping scene. Seriously, who knew?)

TRIGGER WARNING (highlight to read)– This book deals with sexual abuse and suicide.

Hopeless (Hopeless, #1)

