Tags

, , , , ,

Towering

Official Stuff –

Author – Alex Flinn

Pages – 304

Publisher – HarperTeen

Expected Release Date – May 14th, 2013

Summary –

At first, I merely saw his face, his hands on the window ledge. Then, his whole body as he swung himself through the window. Only I could not see what he swung on.
Until, one day, I told my dream self to look down. And it was then that I saw. He had climbed on a rope. I knew without asking that the rope had been one of my own tying.

Rachel is trapped in a tower, held hostage by a woman she’s always called Mama. Her golden hair is growing rapidly, and to pass the time, she watches the snow fall and sings songs from her childhood, hoping someone, anyone, will hear her.

Wyatt needs time to reflect or, better yet, forget about what happened to his best friend, Tyler. That’s why he’s been shipped off to the Adirondacks in the dead of winter to live with the oldest lady in town. Either that, or no one he knows ever wants to see him again.

Dani disappeared seventeen years ago without a trace, but she left behind a journal that’s never been read, not even by her overbearing mother…until now.

My Rating – 2 Stars

*I received a digital copy of this novel from Edelweiss on behalf of HarperTeen*

Another fairytale retelling. I should really learn from my mistakes….

Rachel is locked in a tower. Forced to live there by her “Mama” who is not her real mother. Her real mother was murdered, according to Mama. Rachel must live in the tower to stay hidden from the people that murdered her mother. She starts have dreams about a dark haired boy with green eyes that come to rescue her.

Wyatt is dealing with a traumatic experience of losing both his best friends. His mother decides to ship him off to her childhood friend’s (Dani) mother, Mrs. Greenwood, far away from Long Island. The town is super small of full of weirdness and strange disappearances.

On Wyatt’s first night he begins having dreams about Dani and he discovers her journal that may give clues to her disappearance. He quickly makes friends, (and I mean quickly, the first night he meets a girl named Astrid, he’s making out with her with his hand up her shirt) and during a night out in the woods with friends, he hears a girl singing. But only he can hear her.

He begins asking around town about Dani, her disappearance, and the mysterious singing in the woods. Finally, not really getting anywhere he decides to look for himself and goes to investigate and discovers a tower hidden deep in the woods.

There, he meets Rachel and BAM. INSTA-LOVE. I HATE INSTA-LOVE. Ok, hate is a strong word. It can be done correctly in certain situations. (This is not one of those situations.)

Together Rachel and Wyatt learn the truth of Rachel’s past and what really happened to Dani.

Ok, I have several issues with this book. One, Rachel knows she is seventeen but she doesn’t know when her birthday is or how long she’s actually been in the tower. Two, her hair only grows fast when it’s convenient for the plot. Three, she uses the word “lover” in regular conversation. I know she’s been locked in a tower her whole life and only had classic novels to keep her entertained but any time I hear the term “lover” it makes me think of that SNL skit with Will Ferrell and Rachel Dratch. Four, Mrs. Greenwood is a trekkie. I have absolutely nothing against trekkies but I felt like the placement of it in this novel was very weird.

Rachel has been locked in a tower for almost her whole life and doesn’t know anything about Wyatt or the real world and just starts kissing Wyatt like 5 minutes after she meets him. I just felt like maybe a girl that’s been kept away from society her entire life would be a little shy. Idk. I guess it’s that insta-love thing.

The writing also felt…immature? I don’t know if that’s the best word but it read a bit more like a children’s book than a YA book. Most of the plot you can figure out from the summary if you think hard enough and the rest of the plot is ridiculous. Has to do with magic drugs. It was kind of a “huh? moment”. It really didn’t make much sense.

So, I don’t recommend this book. But I encourage you to make your own judgments! Oh and this is being marketed as a Kendra Chronicles book on certain sites, I am not familiar with that series, however nowhere in the book is a Kendra mentioned and I’ve gathered from other reviews that is it actually not a Kendra book.

Towering

