, , , ,

Six Earlier Days

Official Stuff –

Author – David Levithan

Pages – 47

Publisher – Knopf

Summary –

The novel Every Day starts on Day 5994 of A’s life. In this digital-only collection Six Earlier Days, Levithan gives readers a glimpse at a handful of the other 5993 stories yet to be told that inform how A navigates the complexities of a life lived anew each day.

My Rating – 5 Stars

Ok guys. I’m biased. I have a raging book crush on David Levithan. So just know that when reading this review.

Generally, I don’t bother with these novellas. I tend to find them pointless or not at all what was expected. (Um, the novella for the Divergent Series, the one with Four’s POV? Disappointing.) I couldn’t help myself with this one, though.

In Every Day, we see A changing people’s lives because of Rhiannon. He’s breaking his own rules to be with her. In Six Earlier Days, we see him following his rules, not wanting to make unnecessary changes and disrupt people’s lives.

We see A in different people’s lives from the age of 7 – 16. It’s a nice little insight to how differently he lived before Rhiannon and how he adjusted to his bizarre life in these different ages.  It’s short and sweet and to the point. A wants to belong; he wants that feeling of togetherness. The last day of this book is only a few months before he meets Rhiannon and you can tell he feels a little lonely.

If you liked Every Day, I suggest trying this out. But know, Rhiannon is not mentioned at all; it does nothing to further the ending of Every Day. (I saw some reviews complaining about this. It’s called Six EARLIER Days, c’mon now people.)

If you haven’t read Every Day yet, try this first and get your feet a little wet before you dive in. =P ok THAT was cheesy.

Just read the damn book!

Six Earlier Days