Tags

,

Ethics 

What guidelines must we follow as bloggers–attribution, disclosure, honesty? Have you had an experience with plagiarism (victim or perpetrator?), and how did you deal with it? Do you have recommendations to new bloggers about how to ensure that credit is given to whom/where it’s due? 

I am so far out of the blogging community I honestly had no idea plagiarism is such an issue. Though I can’t say I’m surprised. I’ve only heard about book blogging plagiarism once on twitter and  it was very obviously the work of a child. Does that excuse it? Absolutely not. Stealing is bad, yo!

I think that these are the guidelines we should follow:

1. Don’t be a dick.

2. You and your blog are not better than mine because you have 68469146948651654 followers. My blog is not better than yours because it’s purple and made of awesomeness and fairy dust.

3. Don’t “sell” your reviews.

4. I always like to state at the beginning of my reviews if the book came from Netgalley, or edelweiss, or the author, etc. I think it’s good to let people know if you got the book for free for the purpose of the reviewing it.

5. The purpose of twitter, facebook, etc is to be social. So be social. (Short story, I was following a reasonably popular book blog on twitter. one day the person tweeted something like “tweet me your blog url and I’ll follow!” so I tweeted them. Did they follow? Nope. From what I gathered from reading other tweets is they only followed a select few. Possibly they got overwhelmed, possibly they just picked who they really wanted to follow. I don’t follow them anymore).

6. Credit things you use from other people/blogs/books/ etc.

7. Don’t Be  A Dick! We’re all here for the same purpose, can’t we just all get along and have fun?

Non-Fiction

History, biography, current events, science–the Genre of the Day is Nonfiction! Do you read it? Did you post about it?

I don’t generally read non-fiction. The only non-fiction book I’ve ever reviewed was Sister Mercedes and the Temple of Doom by Brian Petti (which I just finished last night and posted today! Go check it out. It’s probably the only non-fiction review that’s ever going to be on this blog).

Not that I don’t enjoy the occasional non-fiction book but most of the time I find it’s just famous people whining about how terrible their childhoods were. However, besides the Sister Mercedes book, I have read a few others I would like to recommend:

Blowing My Cover; My Life as a CIA Spy by Lindsay Moran

The Soloist by Steve Lopez

