Tags

,

PunkTOPTEN

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly book meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

This week’s topic is: Top Ten Things On My Reading Wishlist (if you could make authors write about these things you would. Could be a specific type of character, an issue tackled, a time period, a certain plot, etc.)

1. Nonperfect girls. Not like “oh I think I’m average looking but I’m really actually very gorgeous with small hands (what is it with the small hands thing!?) like actual nonperfect girls. Rae Carson did a very good job of this (at least in my not so humble opinion) with Elisa in the Fire and Thorns Trilogy. I want to read about some girls that are chubby still get the guy. Because it does happen. Also I think The Fault in Our Stars is another kind of example of this, Hazel has a body that’s been ravage by cancer and she still gets the guy. Umm..sorta…wait I’m going to go sob in a corner for a minute.

2. Mental Illnesses. Hmm…most of these kind of books are depressing (in a bad way) and/or not at all remotely realistic. Girl, Interrupted is one of my favorite books on this topic. Though that’s based on real events so of course it’s going to be realistic. And it doesn’t have to be depression! ADHD, Autism, OCD; these are all mental illnesses that I would like to read about and maybe have something of a happy ending?

3. Fairytales. If you regularly read my blog, you know that fairy tale retellings are my kryptonite (along with mythology books) but they usually suck. Like really suck. The only one that I’ve read recently and actually enjoyed is the Lunar Chronicles. And maybe not a retelling of Beauty and the Beast. Not that I don’t love that one, just it’s been done to death. There are hundreds of fairy tales out there. Get creative!

4. Mythology. See Above. Also, there are tons of myths out there, not just Greek. (though Greek does happen to be my favorite).

5. Girls that don’t need a man. Do I have to explain this one? A girl doesn’t always need a man’s help to save the earth/her planet/country/family/kingdom.

6. Non-Triangle Love Stories. Who doesn’t love a good love story? But I can do without the guy you like and the douchey friendzoned guy that you led on hatin’ on each other. My Life Next Door was an excellent example. So was Hopeless. One girl. One guy. (Or girl/girl guy/guy. love is love, yo). WE NEED MORE OF THESE.

7. Queens. More fantasy Queens please. As in I am Queen hear me roar. As in Cersei without the incest. Smart, capable women in power that wear magnificent dresses and have people bow at their feet (in respect and/or fear).

8. Dragons. I LOVE ME SOME DRAGONS. Always have. Plus i’m a huge fantasy book nerd. I mean, I one of my kids after a LOTR character. I LOVE FANTASY. But there aren’t enough dragons. Daenerys is my favorite character for a reason and that reason is dragons (well and the fact that her character development is AMAZEBALLS).

9. Mob/Organized Crime. I love Mob stories. I’ve read all of Mario Puzo’s books. The Godfather is brilliant. The spine on my copy of The Last Don is worn out. Maybe I’m just not looking in the right places but I need more of these.

10. History. I love history but a lot historical fiction books are cheesy romances or the author is trying to show off all the history facts they know and it reads like a textbook. I love British history and I have read some Philippa Gregory books (and somewhat enjoyed). The history doesn’t have to be entirely correct (I’m okay with some inaccuracies for entertainment’s sake). There  is sooo much mystery and betrayal and murder and conspiracies and strong people in history, that there are plots just begging to be written about!

