Hey all! I’d like to chat about book covers!

On twitter #SplinteredSeries was a trending topic. If you are unfamiliar with the Splintered Series, it contains these two books (so far)

Splintered (Splintered, #1) Unhinged (Splintered, #2)

Now, Splintered #1 has been on my Amazon Wishlist for at least a year now, but I have to admit when I first came across this book, I was turned off by the cover. It just looked too…idk cartoony and low quality. There’s too much going on.

I kept hearing a lot about it and read some good reviews by people I trusted and I added it. I haven’t read it. Yet.

So during this twitter trend I said that I wanted to read the series but I hated the covers.

Then some perfect stranger said I wasn’t a “true reader”. o.0

I know as readers we aren’t supposed to judge books by their covers but c’mon, most people I know do.

Covers sometimes turn me off, covers sometimes attract me. Honestly, it’s human nature to be drawn to certain colors/shapes/etc. I’ve read books with beautiful covers and the books have been terrible (Fallen series, I’m looking at you. Also The Infinite Moment of Us, Water, most of the ARCs I’ve gotten on Netgalley with pretty covers.

And I’ve loved books with terrible covers (Bloodlines. Vampire Academy. Delirium, my version at least, Morganville Vampires).

There are even websites that give authors hints on what kind of colors/fonts/pictures to use on your cover to help draw people in.

So my question for you is, do covers genuinely influence your book reading decisions? Have you decided not to read a book based solely on it’s cover? Have you hated a book with a beautiful cover? What are your favorite book covers?

Talk to me about covers guys! I’m curious to know!

