Tags

,

This is a meme hosted by Bookishly Boisterous

1. Last Week was Armchair BEA and it was so much fun. It was pretty wonderful getting to talk to so many new bloggers. You can see the links for all my posts on the Wrap-Up Post.

2. Let’s talk YA. There was an article posted on Slate, titled “Against YA: Read whatever you want. But you should feel embarrassed when what you’re reading was written for children.” I can’t begin to explain how genuinely offended I am by this article. It basically implies that adults are far too sophisticated for the immature characters and happy endings in YA books. The Fault in Our Stars and Eleanor & Park apparently made the author of the article roll her eyes. She called Divergent and Twilight “trashy” (oooomg more on that in a minute). It’s so sad that a grown woman feels the need to tear down other people simply because of the genre they choose to read. YA isn’t technically even a genre, it’s an age group. There are different genres in the YA category; Sci-Fi, Fantasy, Paranormal, Contemporary, etc. Some good, some bad, some downright amazing. Just as in every other single book category.

YA haters making public declarations seem to be a regular occurrence lately, and for the life of me, I can’t understand why people feel the need to tell others what or what not to read, or why they think their opinion even matters at all. Reading is a very personal experience and no one, repeat NO ONE, can tell you what to like.

On a related note, during Armchair BEA there was a Middle Grade/YA discussion on the last day. Now, I saw no really negative comments about YA or the people that read them but there were some comments like “Rec me YA books that aren’t so YA”

WHAT DOES THAT EVEN MEAN?! You want to read a young adult book that’s not actually young adult? Then read new adult (which is a gray area to me. I feel like some NA books are more YA and some are more adult).

People hear YA and they automatically think Twilight, Hunger Games, Divergent. YA goes WAY beyond those three series. When Twilight hit it big, marketers went crazy trying to make the next Twilight, they compared everything to it. Put “For fans of Twilight” on the covers of books that were completely on the other side of the spectrum. That’s just how marketing works. There are tons of books in the YA category that are vastly different from Twilight.

Are there a lot of supernatural fantasy and dystopian YA books out there right now? Yes! Because that’s what’s making the money now. That’s not all the YA books out there. There is something for everyone. Really the only differences between adult books and YA books are the ages, some of the problems (in certain books) and sex. An adult urban fantasy is just a YA fantasy with sex and cuss words added in.

Is there bad writing in YA novels? Well duh, of course! But there is bad writing in adult books too! You can’t put down an entire genre just because of a few bad books. Look at cheesy, heaving bosom Harlequin novels, I think those are the worst. Do I care if people read them? Nope! You go ahead and get down with your sexy novels. As long as you are reading!

Now about Twilight, can we please stop the bashing now? It’s gotten really old. The last book came out in 2008, let it go already. I know it’s not the best writing in the world, but do I give a crap? Hell freaking no. I still love it. People like Twilight, deal with it. Also, the vampires in Southern Vampire Mysteries (Sookie Stackhouse/True Blood) treat Sookie WAAAY worse than Edward ever treats Bella and I never, ever hear anyone complaining about the lies, manipulations, stalking, abuse that Erik and Bill put Sookie through. Well maybe Bill but only because he turned out the be a real douche. But Erik tricking Sookie into marrying him? Nothing. Swapping blood with her so he can keep track of her? Nothing. All the near death experiences that she had because of him? Nothing. Edward is not the first vamp to get a little creepy/possessive around a human and he surely won’t be the last.

Actually can we just stop the bashing of YA in general? Let people read what they want, it’s not harming you if someone reads a YA book. As I commented on the article, 15% of adults in the world are illiterate and you want to judge the people that can and do read? Screw yourself.

3. The Fault in Our Stars comes out today. I’m seeing it Saturday (most likely). I’m not ready. I’M NOT READY.

4. Maleficent was everything I’d hoped it would be and I love my Angelina even more now. I won’t spoil anything but I’m glad it strays a bit from Sleeping Beauty.

5. I’m still annoyed by that stupid effing article.

