Tags

,

PunkTOPTEN

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly book meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

This week’s topic is: Top Ten Books I Read in 2014

Well, I have to honestly say that I wasn’t too impressed with a lot of the books I read this past year. I don’t know if was because I had a lot going on and if the book didn’t grab me right away, I only read it sporadically, or because I read quite a few galleys/ARCs and they just weren’t that good (I DNF’d four books this year, FOUR. I don’t think I’ve DNF’d that many books in my entire life before this year!). So this list was a bit tricky to put together.

1. Veronica Mars: The Thousand-Dollar Tan Line – For a VMars fan, this book was damn near perfect. It was the cherry on top of a Marshmallow cake. Loved it and I can’t wait for the next one!
My Review

2. Failure to Navigate – As I said in my review, I’m a bit biased because I know the girls that wrote this book, however they are talented writers and this book is proof. It is heavy on the angst and full of triggers but deals with mental illness in a real way that I loved.
My Review

3. Queen of Someday – I absolutely loved this book. It’s about the Catherine the Great and how she became Empress of Russia. Though not entirely historically accurate, it was close. Catherine was very strong character.
My Review

4. Wise Young Fool – I was honestly surprised how much I enjoyed this book. I thought it was just going to be about some punk kid whining about his life, but it went much deeper than that. I really enjoyed this book.
My Review

5. Don’t Look Back – As popular as Jennifer L. Armentrout is, I’d never read any of her books. I just didn’t think they’d be my thing. This book though grabbed me right away and didn’t let me go until the end. I like that it gave me a new author to get into!
My Review

6. Four – I wasn’t happy with Allegiant; not really because of the ending (though i’m NOT happy with the ending. still.) but more because I felt like Roth lost sight of who Four was. I felt like he lost his voice, so this book kind of reminded me what a great character he was before Allegiant.
My Review

7. Virgin – This book cracked me up. It’s about a 21 year old virgin who is desperate to lose her virginity ASAP. The road to her becoming sexually active was pretty entertaining and kind of crazy. I definitely recommend if you need a good laugh.
My Review

8. Shadows – A book about Rephaim, kick-ass ones at that. The book wasn’t perfect, but I really liked the main character, Gaby and it was full of action so it kept me pretty entertained.
My Review

9. Silver Shadows – So many Sydrian feels! Also, so much happens in this book! I didn’t like Sydney when I read VA but I’ve come to love her because of this series and I’m so glad I gave it a chance.
My Review

10. Cress – Cress was adorable. She was smart and hard-headed and I really liked her. i wasn’t into the CressxThrone story, I think I would have enjoyed the story more if she didn’t have a love interest but it was a good third book in this series.
My Review

