Tags

,

Blogger Development 

The purpose of the conference is to foster “blogger development”–and clearly, that development can go in a variety of directions! Today, we’re inviting you to talk about your approach. Have you branched out into your community? Do you partner with other bloggers? Have you gone “pro” or tried generating some income through your blog? If you’re a long-term blogger, how has your online personality developed over the years?

Well, I’ve only been doing this in January so I still have a lot to learn. When I first started getting the blog together, I checked out tons and tons of other blogs to see what I was supposed to do. And you know what? I still don’t know. I just kinda do my own thing.

I have a busy life. I work full time, I have kids, and I’m trying to get through school. My significant other is totally cool with my book obsession but would like it if I didn’t always have my nose in a book during our quality time together. So I don’t always have time to read and post. Or want to (last night for example I was up until midnight watching Arrested Development on Netflix). I post when I post. I wish  I could post everyday but there’s simply no way.

I have not branched out. I’m even entirely sure I know how to do that. lol. I don’t partner with other bloggers, though I’m totally down for that. Aso for going “pro” that’s a thing?! Like a legit thing?!

I’ve made a promise to myself that if I keep the blog going for a year, I’ll buy my domain name. Here’s hoping.

Genre Fiction

If you’re a reader of genre fiction do you have a favourite author or series? And what keeps bringing you back for more fantasy/sci fi/horror etc? And if you don’t read one (or more) of these genres what is it that deters you from those sections of the bookstore? Sci-fi, fantasy, horror, mystery, romance, and more–is genre fiction your thing?

FICTION! Oh how I love thee. Paranormal (vampires/witches) is my standard “go to” genre. I’m a sucker for fairytale retellings, though they tend to not be so good. Also mythology; Greek, Roman, I’d love some Norse stuff but I haven’t come across any (yet. feel free to rec me something!)

Fantasy. I love Fantasy but I’m picky about it. It’s very strange. I like historical fiction (it doesn’t really have to be historically accurate either, I loved The Other Boleyn Sister). The Song of Ice and Fire series, omg LOVE IT.

Dystopian..I enjoy it but it’s become a “thing” now in YA not all of them are that good.

I don’t really read romance novels, though I have been pleasantly surprised by some lately and I have been trying to branch out. I dislike Erotica. Reading about the act of sex makes me giggle like a 12 year old boy. No matter how good of a writer you are, it always sounds cheesy to me.

I do enjoy a good mystery, and thrillers. (which is so strange because I can’t watch The Shining but I can read the hell out of the book). Anne Rice and Stephen King will remain my two favorite authors ever. (Also, Mr. King’s son Joe Hill has some amazing books).

I don’t get Science Fiction. I don’t know why, but I just don’t get it. Give me a sword and a wand over a light saber any day.